Big God…big heart.

Shelley Hundley from IHOP just came out with her book A Cry For Justice about Jesus as our advocate against injustice. I read the sample on my Kindle (best gift ever from my amazing sister) and really, really wanted to buy the book. The thing is, I will be officially unemployed in about two weeks and am trying not to spend money on any extras. So no book.

But the sample gripped me and I knew I had to read the whole thing – so I went to the Kindle store just to see how much it was.

Kindle Price: $0.00 includes free wireless delivery via
Amazon Whispernet

That’s right – $0.00 – FREE! Woohoo! Quick, go get a copy before Amazon changes its mind.

*****

This upcoming journey will be all about trusting God’s provision for what I need instead of striving for what I want. This won’t be easy. The truth is, I feel like I have to scramble to provide certain things for myself because I’m afraid God might think they’re too frivolous or indulgent. I mean look around – these are sober times and God has more important things to do than think about what I’d like to read.

When I was little, I used to recite a German bedtime prayer that went like this: “Come Lord Jesus, come to me, make a good child out of me. My heart is small and no one can come in but You, my little Jesus.” In German it sounded cuter because it rhymed. Maybe that’s why it never dawned on me until recently how weird it was. Who teaches children to pray for a small heart and a little Jesus?

I know in my head that God is big. Huge. Enormous. And omnipresent. But sometimes it’s like my heart got stuck in that prayer about the little Jesus.

It may sound kind of silly, but this whole thing with the book is big shift for me. It’s not that I’ve never experienced God’s love or provision, but this was really specific and completely unexpected. So God, I pray You would create in me a big heart that can know Your immense goodness…and make it known.

Leave a Reply

