Standing in the gap.

When I was about ten years old, my dad and I went hiking in the mountains of Bavaria.  We started out in a beautiful meadow, but the terrain became more rocky and treacherous the higher we climbed.  At one point we had to cross a ravine.  I was too scared to jump over, so my dad lowered me into the chasm while he stepped over to the other side where he would pull me out.  Right at that moment, a climber far above us loosened a large rock, which came hurling down the mountain straight at me.  I was stuck in the ravine and couldn’t get out of the way.  Somehow my dad was able to get his hands around the rock and slow it down enough to keep it from crushing me.  I’m convinced my father saved my life that day.  He stood in the gap between me and that rock.

***

I believe there is still time to rebuild the wall of righteousness and restore the deficit of character that has bankrupted our nation.  It won’t be easy.  Many people will watch the collapse of the wall on YouTube and chalk it up to another sign of the End Times.  They are standing by for the Rapture.  Restoring the wall would only serve to hinder the Day.

Well-meaning others will form committees, make posters and tweet about the Build A Better Wall Initiative. They remind you that after the service they will be standing around to collect donations of Legos and Crazy Glue.

Still others have already been to the wall.  They started under cover of darkness, chipping away one brick at a time and are now, in the afternoon sun, standing back to revere their handiwork.

Finally there are those who will be real about the extent and location of the damage and about their part in the collapse.   They will hike to the edge of the city – well beyond safety and way past comfort – all the way to where the wall was.

Then they will position themselves in the ruins, in the empty space where they are most vulnerable.  Where they are exposed to the elements and the enemy. They will stand in the gap between mercy and judgment and they will start building.  The work will be hard and dirty and bloody, but they will not stand down.

For as long as the breach remains, they will be the wall.  Who will you be?

But now O God, strengthen my hands.  Nehemiah 6:9

2 thoughts on “Standing in the gap.

  1. I want to be part of the wall.
    I’ve been praying for mercy for my country and surveying the ruins of my family wall… not sure what my part of restoring the wall might be.
    I hope you will write more on this subject, with some concrete examples of what form the symbolism might look like for you or others.
    Thank you for this encouragement.

    • Irene – thank you for your comment. I am hoping to have time in the next few days to post on what the wall has looked like for me in this season. As we watch events unfold in our nation and across the globe, it seems that the task of repairing the breach is too overwhelming. But even over the last few days, I have seen God position people along the wall in strategic places, each with a special assignment, just as in the book of Nehemiah…

Leave a Reply

